The Sweetest Thing

IMG_8979When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them?
Psalm 8:3-4

I didn’t make a post-camp blog this year because it was kind of overwhelming. I had a bunch of people from the lifegroup I used to lead come to camp without being coerced by me, which was such a blessing to see. The girl from last year’s camp blog came back and brought her sister, which was really cool. One of my nephews came to camp(!!!). And just the experience in general was pretty humbling to be a part of.

The only thing I was pretty bummed about was the loss of one of my favorite earrings. Now, this is super vain, but I wear a certain pair of earrings when I work out because, although I’m intentionally getting sweaty and gross and all nasty-looking, I refuse to not wear earrings and further risk looking like a little boy.

The thing is, I didn’t realize I was so attached to these little purple studs until I lost one. I legitimately went home so sad because I couldn’t find one. I emptied out every bag, checked every crevice of the cabin and everything I could have possibly dropped them in and found nothing. The worst part was, I remembered thinking I shouldn’t have put my earrings where I did immediately after taking them off at camp – but I couldn’t remember where that place was.

The other day, I was yelling at my dog to not eat a piece of trash on the floor and thinking about how badly I needed to sweep, and I stepped on what I thought was one of many pieces of lint laying on my floor – and it was my other earring! I was ecstatic that I would no longer have to look male in the gym, but more than that, I was blessed by how sweet of God it was to align that for me.

I began to think of the many things that could have gone wrong: I could have given up and thrown away the matching earring; my dog could have eaten it; I could have swept/vacuumed and thrown it away unintentionally. But God seemed to know even more than I did how attached I was to those little fake earrings.

To me, that spoke to how faithful God is even when we’re trifling (because I still haven’t swept my place smh) and to how HE knows our hearts, even when we don’t. He’s protecting what we love, even when we haven’t done the right thing and taken our losses to Him first.

This was such a seemingly frivolous event, and such a seemingly unimportant deed, but it was a sweet nothing from my Father. He does the sweetest things to bless us, just because He can.

What a Wonderful Creator.

That’s all. I’m gonna go sweep now 😉

Leave a comment